Is CBD Halal?

The potential benefits of CBD are widely being reported but can this super supplement be taken by everyone? In particular, what about the Muslim community who must ensure that everything they consume is halal.

If you’ve been following the buzz about CBD but weren’t sure whether CBD was haram, check out this blog post to dispel the myths. Is CBD halal? Spoiler alert: it’s good news!

Understanding Halal Requirements

If you’re following halal rules, you won’t need an introduction to what you can and can’t eat. For anyone else who’s interested, here’s a quick rundown of what halal means.

Islamic law considers all food halal (lawful) unless it falls into one of the following categories, such as:

  • Pork and its byproducts
  • Meat from animals who were improperly slaughtered
  • Carnivorous animals
  • Horses, mules and donkeys
  • Birds of prey
  • Animals without external ears
  • Blood
  • Alcohol and other intoxicants

Foods which are considered to be pure and clean are classified as halal and can be consumed.

Foods which fall into one of the unacceptable categories are known as haram.

But where does this leave CBD? Is CBD halal? To answer this, we’re first going to explain what CBD is.

CBD Oil sat in water

What is CBD?

CBD - or cannabidiol - is a cannabinoid which is non-psychoactive. Grown on the cannabis plant, there have been lots of misconceptions about CBD, including whether it can get you high.

Only CBD products which also contain THC can produce the altered state of consciousness that cannabis is renowned for. In the UK, it’s illegal for any CBD products to contain more than 0.2% THC. In practice you’ll find some brands have much less, such as Green Jungle which contains no more than 0.05%. This means it’s impossible to get any kind of high from legal UK CBD products.

CBD oil, gummies and products have been linked to a range of potential benefits and many users include them as part of an overall wellness regime.

Is CBD Halal?

As CBD is derived from a plant, the answer would seem to be very straightforward. Plants are generally considered to be halal.

However, there is one complicating factor which is the fact that CBD oil comes from the same plant as cannabis. As an intoxicating substance, cannabis is not halal.

As the amount of THC contained in CBD oil is negligible, it is considered halal. Experts from organisations including the Muslim Council of Britain and the Halal Foundation have confirmed they believe CBD oil is halal. You should, of course, always do your own research to make sure it sits comfortably with your own beliefs.

One final word of warning: CBD comes in many forms including an oil, gummies and capsules. While the oil does not present any issues, gummies and capsules may be haram if gelatine has been used.

You will need to check the ingredients in the gummies or other types of CBD supplements to make sure there is no gelatine or other unsuitable ingredients.

Not all gummies and capsules contain gelatine. At Green Jungle, we want to be able to offer our products to as many people as possible. This means that our capsules and gummies are completely free of gelatine, vegan-friendly and halal.

Check out our range of CBD products in our online store to find out more.